Tuesday, December 27, 2005

PRESS RELEASE: Rimat Ti Amianan

by Kage Gozun

La Union, known in Northern Luzon as one of the most popular breaks for beginner surfers from Manila, was invaded by some of the best surfers in the country. Held at San Juan, La Union, “Rimat Ti Amianan” (Treasure of the North), was a fitting name for the sixth and final leg of the year-long Philippine Surf Circuit.

Mounted by the Philippine Surf Federation, a special aura permeated the final leg. This was when the Top Twelve Filipino surfers were going to be finalized and announced. These surfers had amassed points throughout the year, with positions in the roster shifting depending on how well they did in each leg. The La Union competition would either make or break some of the current standings. This was something that was on the minds of most of the competitors.

The event was set up at The Point, a break fronting the Monaliza Resort. The weeks leading up to the event date had proven disappointing, with small waves and strong on-shore winds. But, as the competition date drew nearer, the waves grew in size and strength. By the time the horn had been sounded for the first heat of the contest, The Point was looking like an angry monster challenging the surfers to take on its power.

By Friday morning, the waves were deemed too large for the grommet division. Contest director Olin Duaso split his team of judges and had the grommet heats run at the nearby break of Carille while simultaneously running the Open Division heats at The Point.

Several upsets were witnessed as front runners in the Top Twelve were dropped from their heats during the. Among these was Siargao Island’s Dodo Espejon, and La Union’s Luke Landrigan. Both were ranked in the top twelve before Rimat Ti Amianan. Dark horses such as La Union’s Jun “Tanjung” Fietas and Moro Gandawli, meanwhile advanced in their heats. How this would affect the top twelve’s current rankings would have to remain a mystery until after the final heat of the competition.

A special Wahine Division heat was also staged Saturday afternoon. The five women braved a break that was dishing out what their male counterparts were calling one of the strongest currents they had experienced in the area.

Awarding night was abuzz with excitement. After nearly a week of good surfing and high excitement, it was to be expected. The results of all the divisions were announced, as well as the final rankings of the top twelve surfers for 2005. Prizes were given out, speeches were made and beer flowed freely.

It was a fitting end for an enlivening competition and an even more adrenaline-pumping year of sun, stoke and surf.

The Philippine Surfing Federation blog is at http://surfpinoy.blogspot.com/ and has links to photos and results of what happened for 2005. We also encourage you be updated for next year’s string of events by joining the PSF mailing list at http://asia.groups.yahoo.com/group/psfupdates/ and click on the Join This Group icon. You can also email us at psftour@gmail.com so we would be happy to add your email address for you.

Wednesday, December 21, 2005

Top 12 Surfers of the Philippines

The circuit was created to determine the Top 12 Filipino Surfers for the year. After each surfer from the Open Division joined a competition, he stood to gain a predetermined number of points, depending on how he placed in a certain leg of the tour. These points were then tallied at the end of the circuit to determine which 12 waveriders made it to the prestigious list.

This year (the tour's first year) was an unpredictable race. Bets were made by surfers, spectators and sponsors. These are the men that surfed their way to the A-list.

1. Dionisio Espejon (SI)
2. Bonifacio Figuron (SI)
3. Argie Hugo (BA)

4. Alex Commandante (SI)
5. Martin Taniegra (SI)
6. Edmund Mendoza (BA)
7. Joel Faraon (BA)
8. Rodolfo Alcala (SI)
9. Jomar Gloria (SI)
10. Sandito Alciso (SI)
11. Luke Landrigan (LU)
12. Anthony Valdez (LU)

These are the people to watch. The surfer who holds the highest spot will be given an opportunity to join international competitions by Cong. Butch Pichay, PSF's Chairman.

The PHILIPPINE SURFING CIRCUIT 2005 has reached its final leg. Thank you to all the sponsors that despite the short time preparation delivered and supported us all throughout the year. To friends that traveled with us and the new ones we made in the 6 destinations we visited. To the Board of Directors and our Chairman who guided us along the way and made sure that we finish the circuit. And of course, to each and every SURFER that competed in each and every leg…the circuit’s success is because of you! We’ll see you all next year! Happy Holidays!

-PSF Team of Volunteers
Philip, Olin, Zeny, Mhay, Mako, Eric, Chris Pulo, Yok-yok, Floyd, Allan, Mac, Kage & Pat

Photos in this post are from Kage Gozun

Permission from owner or PSF is needed for commercial use

Results for Rimat Ti Aminian Surfing Invitational

As the year draws to a close, the PSF in turn concludes the first year of the Philippine Surfing Circuit 2005 with Rimat Ti Aminian as its last hurrah. Here are the results and some photos during the 5-day event.

Open Division:
Champion: Alex Comandante - Siargao Island
1st Runner-up: Bonifacio Figuron - Siargao Island
2nd Runner-up: Argie "Bad Boy" Hugo - Baler, Aurora
3rd Runner-up: Tanjung Fietas - La Union

Junior Division:
Champion: Joseph Antipasado - Siargao Island
1st Runner-up: Zaldy Coldura - Siargao Island
2nd Runner-up: Jeff dela Torre - Baler, Aurora
3rd Runner-up: Allan Derecho - Baler, Aurora

Wahine Division:
Champion: Nildie Blancada - Siargao Island
1st Runner-up: Daisy Valdez - La Union
2nd Runner-up: Mickey Galang - La Union
3rd Runner-up: Joy Ishii - La Union
4th Runner-up: Menchie Espenilla - La Union

Grommet Division:
Champion: Allen De Vera - Baler, Aurora
1st Runner-up: Bilmar Velasquez- La Union
2nd Runner-up: Peter Paul Alipayo - Siargao Island
3rd Runner-up: Paul John Alipayo - Siargao Island

For this leg we would like to say thank you to the La Union Surf Club- to Shiny Surf Lemon a.k.a El Presidente; the Philippine Longboarding Club- Mike & Alma and to Chris & Menchie, our local judges- Ian Saguan, Archie Martinez & Angel; Allan Alvarez and Sebay for hosting the night events; Ronnie of RP Bahay for the prizes, Love Radio 101.7, Bjorn Pabon of Fluid Surf for making sure the winners have new boardshorts, to Rey and Director Valera of DOT Reg 1, Vice Gov Nisce & the Provincial Government of La Union and as well as the Local Government of San Juan. Salamat! Amalam desho. Happy Holidays!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

More photos on This Photosite ...thanks sistah Kage

Friday, December 02, 2005

La Union Invitation

Time for you to take a surf trip and join us for the last leg of the Philippine Surfing Circuit 2005. On Dec 13-17 the tour with haul its delegation of competitors and their usual groupies to San Juan, La Union for the final stop of the year-long surf tour.